If I were to give a commencement speech, this is what it would be

Today, I want to share something that happened in my own life. I surely hope that you could relate this to your own.

1. Have four friends whom you can blindly trust.

Most of my childhood was total chaos. I never had any good friends, the people whom I claimed as my friends were dominant over me, I never liked them. I never had any close friends until I entered my Engineering. At the start, I never knew who’ll become my friends and for how long they are gonna stay with me.

I came to know my true friends only when I was struck by a high fever which left me hospitalised. It was dengue. Anyone who has dengue will automatically notice the decrease in platelets. A normal platelet count ranges from 150,000 to 450,000 platelets per microliter of blood. Well, mine had come to around 10,000 and the doctor informed the situation to my mother with a despairing look. My mother was alarmed and was in a state of panic. Luckily, I survived with the help of my friends and other individuals.

One of the reasons that I lived was because of my close friend. He was the one who cared for me more next to my mother. He was the one who managed to arrange most of the blood donors for the platelet extraction. I just want to thank him a billion. I don’t know if I would have ever made it alive if it weren’t for him.

Another one of my close friends is with whom I exchange knowledge and optimism. We are both like minded and have similar interests, be it technology or having to serve the world. Want to exchange ideas? I call him. Coming to my third friend, she is someone I go to when I feel really depressed. Many times over she helped come out of being down. No matter how many times I tell her the same mistake(that mustn’t be repeated), she never gets frustrated and calms me down. The last one is my Big Sister, whom I later considered as my mentor. She is unique kind of a person who makes me understand my mistakes just with her eyes and her silence.

I am so very lucky to have these four as my friends. I can’t imagine a life without them.

“A friend to all is a friend to none.”

-Aristotle

2. Make sure you have extraordinary mentors

It was not so long ago that I understood the difference between a mentor and a teacher. I had five mentors. They taught me many things directly and also indirectly. Out of the five, I happen to meet and have a conversation with only four. The one whom I admire the most is someone I learnt the values and qualities of a human just with observation by attending his conferences and seminars. If I want to tell it in just a sentence, “He’s a gentle roaring lion.” Humble and kind, yet with remarkable qualities. I could call him a perfect human(in my perspective).

The next three mentors taught me

  • To be happy no matter what the situation is and will eventually change to become far better.
  • The importance to have a business class attire, to be on time no matter what, finally, the importance of reading books.
  • This mentor is very kind, I haven’t seen him get angry even once. He taught me to believe in my dreams and to use the mind to manifest things. It’s called as “The Law of Attraction.”

The final mentor is my big sister. As I told earlier, she makes my realise my mistakes by not talking to me, just with her silence. For that, I’m really grateful. The main mistake that I corrected with my sister’s silence was the mistake of over-excitement.

“A mentor is someone who sees more talent and ability within you than you see in yourself and helps bring it out of you.

-Bob Proctor

3. Write down your goals and work on them

“The best part of life is that it knocks you down many number of times. The best part of a true champion is that he’ll get up no matter how many times he’s put down and attains the chamionship.”

Writing down attainable goals not only fills you with excitement but also fills you with the courage to pursue it. There will be people who will say that this not possible by the likes of you. Just ignore them. They are just critics, their only job is to criticise.

Having like-minded friends and extraordinary mentors to guide you, will make your journey worthwhile and the dreams you have written on the paper will be right in front of your eyes.

Thank you for taking your precious time in reading this.

4 thoughts on “If I were to give a commencement speech, this is what it would be

Leave a Reply

