What you see is your perspective, not the truth

One of my all time favourite quote, “Beauty lies in the eye of the beholder.”

We live in the technology era, the things happening around the world reach us in seconds. Few things shock us, few things amaze us and few things change our thoughts and make us see the world differently.

Most of us tend to believe what social media says, be it via words, videos and also pictures. The social media can either make you a productive person and help you learn new stuff or it can make you lazy, get you addicted to it and at the end, you tend to do things that are really not worth doing.

I was a person who used to believe what the social media said. Now, I don’t really care. Few pictures had me deluded. The generation we live in sometimes misleads you from the truth. With that delusion, you’ll start thinking that everyone is the same. A few months ago I came across a picture which showed that the people who can afford to eat at restaurants, take pictures of their food, then post it on social media where as the ones who can’t afford them pray and be thankful for the food before they start eating. When I saw that, it made me believe that it was true.

A few months I came across a picture which showed that the people who can afford to eat at restaurants take pictures of their food, then post it on social media where as the ones who can’t afford them pray and be thankful for the food before they start eating. When I saw that, it made me believe that it was true. But, what I saw this morning changed my thinking.

This morning I decided to eat outside, spend some time at a nice restaurant. At a restaurant, I saw a lady taking pictures of the food she ordered. I kept observing her and she snapped more pictures from many angles. I began to think that she is also someone who is going to put the picture on social media for likes and comments. To my surprise, she then put her mobile phone down, closed her eyes, joined her hands and started praying, I could see her lips move and whispers prayers. I misjudged her.  I have not seen many people do this.

Few of my friends snap pictures of the food and put it on Facebook for attention and likes. I guess few are like that. Maybe it is their mindset. I judged the people based on what I saw on social media, it misled me into thinking that everyone here is same. But no, that’s not true at all. With today’s experience, I came to know that.

Everyone has their own set of thoughts, their own way of seeing and doing things. If we judge a person based on his behaviour we might not know the true side of the person.

488727
“Beauty lies in the eye of the beholder.”

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

